MNTN will spend against your Performance Goal, therefore it is important that you accurately set your desired performance goal. If you have an idea of the type of performance goal you've been hitting in the past or with other vendors, you may well know how to set expectations for yourself when viewing your conversion performance. However we would like to review each of the Performance Goal options MNTN offers.
ROAS
Your Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) optimizes your Performance TV budget to drive as many conversions as possible for your chosen goal value.
To calculate ROAS, take the Visit Total Order Value generated by your campaign and divide it by the media spend.
A ROAS higher than 1:1 means that the campaign is generating more revenue than expense. When it is 1:1, media expense equals revenue.
Example:
If you spent $1,000 on a shopping campaign in one month, and during the same month this campaign generated a revenue of $5,000, then your return would be: $5000/$1000 = 5:1 A return on advertising spend of 5:1 indicates that for every dollar spent on the shopping campaign, you get $5 in revenue. |
eCPA
Your Effective Cost Per Acquisition (eCPA) optimizes your Performance TV Budget to improving your cost for your visit conversions on a cost per thousand (CPM) basis.
To calculate the eCPA, take the total media spend on your campaign over a certain duration of time and divide it by the number of visit conversions for the same duration.
Example:
If you spent $10,000 on a shopping campaign in one month, and during the same month this campaign generated 500 visit conversions, then your eCPA would be: $10,000/500 = $20 effective cost per acquisition An eCPA indicates that for every $20 you spend, you effectively get one conversion |
Cost Per Visit
Your Cost Per Visit optimizes your Performance TV budget to drive as many site visits as possible for your chosen goal value.
To calculate your CPV, take the total Performance TV spend of your campaign and divide by the number of completed views.
Cost Per Completed View
Your Cost Per Completed View optimizes your Performance TV budget to increase the completed view rate as much as possible for your chosen audience.
To calculate your CPCV, take the total spend of your campaign and divide by the total number of verified visits.
Using a 3rd-party attribution system like Google Analytics?
If you, like many of our partners, use a 3rd-party attribution system to measure what MNTN drives to your website, you should know to expect a discrepancy between our performance reporting and that of the 3rd-party.
A conversion/revenue discrepancy of about 50% between our reporting and a given 3rd-party’s system is to be expected, so to ensure you meet the goal in your chosen attribution system, we recommend adjusting your MNTN performance goal accordingly.
For example, if you expect to drive a 3:1 ROAS in Google Analytics from MNTN, then you should enter a 6:1 ROAS goal in the MNTN UI; if you expect to drive a $20 CPA in GA from MNTN, we recommend placing a $10 CPA in the MNTN UI.
If you have any further questions on this, please reach out to our support team or check out our article on why my Google Analytics data does not match MNTN data.